The Ku Klux Klan

The Ku Klux Klan (KKK) was founded in 1865, and extended into almost every southern state by 1870. They named this Klan after the Greek word kuklos which means “circle”. The name means “Circle of Brothers”. There were three different Klans. In the first Klan there was no organizational structure for this group.The group sought out to restore white supremacy by threats and violence. This included murder against black and white Republicans. In 1870 and 1871, the government passed the Force Acts which were used to prosecute the Klan’s crimes. The second Klan was founded in Georgia in 1915. It grew very rapidly throughout the Midwest and West out of the South. This Klan preached “One Hundred Percent Americanism”. It was a very formal fraternal organization. The third Klan was mainly used for opposing the Civil Rights Movement and desegregation. Today, researchers estimate that there is approximately 150 Klan chapters with upwards of 5,000 members nationwide. In 1999, the city council of Charleston, South Carolina passed a resolution declaring the Klan to be a terrorist organization. To read more on this information, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s